Northwest Illinois Criminal Justice Commission
There is still room in the February 27-28, 2018 Recruiting & Background Class in Freeport. Registration will be accepted through Monday February 19th.
Do you have a fire/police commissioner or mayor that should attend? They are welcome to attend “Day #1” and glean some very up to date and relevant information on recruiting and hiring practices.
The Northwest Illinois Criminal Justice Commission (NICJC) has begun a new partnership with the Dolan Consulting Group for the delivery of high quality training via the NICJC's distant learning network.
The project will deliver supervisory & administrative training in two-hour segments to the NICJC region. The Illinois specific training will provide chiefs/sheriffs with training qualified to meet their annual 20-hour training mandate.
Miranda Warning for Juveniles-What do I have to say?
(705 ILCS 405/5-401.5) (a-5) An oral, written, or sign language statement of a minor, who at the time of the commission of the offense was under 18 years of age, is presumed to be inadmissible when the statement is obtained from the minor while the minor is subject to custodial interrogation by a law enforcement officer, State's Attorney, juvenile officer, or other public official or employee prior to the officer, State's Attorney, public official, or employee:
MTU1's current list of training classes for February & March 2018.
The list of upcoming training beyond those months is located on the Future Training Courses webpage.
The 2018 Winter issue of the Criminal Justice Publication Digest has been added to the website.
The digest is a complete listing of all 0ct-Dec 2017 cases analyzed in
the Illinois Prosecutor Services 2017 quarterlies.
How is your BODY WORN CAMERA report coming along?
Pursuant to 50 ILCS 706/10-25 each law enforcement agency that utilizes body worn cameras must provide a report to the Board by May 1 of each year.
PA100-0285 takes effect January 1, 2018 and It requires
(0.1) (a) The Department of State Police and all law enforcement agencies within the State shall automatically expunge, on or before January 1 of each year, all law enforcement records relating to events occurring before an individual's 18th birthday if: ………