News- previous articles

Outside Training-Training Institute on Strangulation Prevention Webinar

1/3/2017 12:00:00 AM

This training is not being presented or endorsed by MTU1. MTU1 does not have any additional information.

What We Learned in 2016: Updates from the Training Institute on Strangulation Prevention Webinar

January 9, 2017

10:00 am Pacific Time

(12:00 pm CT, 1:00 pm ET)

Presented by: Casey Gwinn, JD, Gael Strack, JD, and Dr. William Smock Course Description:Strangulation impacts all professionals working on sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence and stalking cases. Today, we know unequivocally that strangulation is one of the most lethal forms of domestic violence. Unconsciousness may occur within seconds and death within minutes.During this webinar, Casey Gwinn, JD, Gael Strack, JD, and Dr. William Smock will discuss lessons learned, best practices, and resources available for family violence and sexual assault professionals. Subtopics will include:
  • Findings from our survivor focus group
  • New Medical Radiological Evaluation Recommendations from the Medical Advisory Board
  • Best practices for identifying, documenting, investigating, and prosecuting strangulation cases
  • Emerging issues in the field - medical, legal and advocacy trends
  • Implementing new and existing legislation: Moving the dial in 2017
Approximately 1.5 Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) credits are offered with this training, included in the price of registration. Alliance for HOPE International is a California approved provider of MCLE credits for attorneys (Provider #15493). Professionals in states outside of California should check with their own state bar to determine whether these credits are approved in their jurisdiction.

Register HERE

click on infograph to view entire document

click on infograph to view entire document


Posted In: Uncategorized,
back to News- previous articles